May-Saturdays have the Travel Bug working overtime


She bit me, AGAIN! Have you been bitten yet?

While enjoying a fresh cup of latte under the morning sun in a very cozy and comfortable spot in our suburban backyard, she struck again! This time with absolutely no consideration for the overly ambitious, productivity focused schedule, that I had so diligently crafted the night before, for the rest of my day.  Within seconds, I had transported myself to Bulgaria. My travel plans this summer will take me there for a month, and now I could not stop thinking about my in-country itinerary. While this will not be my first time in Bulgaria (in fact I was born there and make it a point to go back at least once a year every year) visiting all the places and people that I love and who comprise my “MUST-SEE” list is always a challenge in the time that I have.

Size-wise Bulgaria is not a big country, but it is jam-packed with historical and natural wonders that have shaped the architecture, customs and traditions of the local population. In my daydreaming haze, I can see long tables full with delicious Bulgarian dishes, such as shopska salata (the closest we have to it in the States is Greek salad) and tarator (a refreshing yogurt, cucumber and dill soup- just the thing to cool you on a hot summer day) the ingredients for which were hanging in the host’s garden just a few short hours ago. I can see smiley faces and long embraces, loud toasts  with small glasses of rakia (alcoholic drink you MUST try a sip of) and the words of dobre doshli (welcome) echoing under the grapevines, providing the perfect shade for a long and delicious meal with your favorite Bulgarians. Indeed, May-Saturdays have the travel bug working overtime!

“The world is meant to be seen in real time…with suitcases in hand!”

– Vladimir Penev, Bulgarian actor

Old Town of Kotel in Bulgaria

Old Town of Kotel, Bulgaria by Andrey Andreev

What part of the world are YOU seeing in real time this summer? Share your travel plans bellow and risk becoming the inspiration behind someone else’s unforgetable journeys.

~WithLoveFromBG~

P.S. Crave more? Our Resources on Bulgaria page is updated regularly & features lots of interesting & useful reads. Check it out! 😉

Leave a Reply

